top of page


Scotland’s national motor racing team – Ecurie Ecosse – was established in 1951
by Edinburgh businessman and racing driver David Murray in partnership with mechanic Wilkie Wilkinson.

The team’s greatest success came in winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans two years running.

The 1956 race was won by Ron Flockhart and Ninian Sanderson in a D-Type Jaguar.

Flockhart repeated his win in 1957, this time partnering with Ivor Bueb.

The Ecurie Ecosse cars were famed for their Flag Metallic Blue colouring